White washing a wood serving tray

image

I had a black tray in my “junk closet” that I just could not part with. You can pretty much call me a serving tray collector. I decided to make this tray white wash so it would match my home better.

 

Before

Before

I  used Rustoleum flat white paint and I mixed it with water. When white washing your just mixing your paint with water to create the brush stroke look. I always start with maybe a half cup of water and if I do not get my desired look I add more water until it is the look I’m going for.

image

The above photo was my first coat. I went with a total of two coats because I really liked what was happening here! This will dry rather quick because its not layered on thick like most paints. However, if your going to place items in your tray wait 24 hours for the paint to fully dry.

image

What a great excuse to eat crumb cake for breakfast. I was simply “making sure the tray held up”…..

Enjoy your weekend!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

